原罪教义

原罪教义

 
当前位置: 我看世界 >> 原罪教义

本页节选自R.C. 梅特卡夫《致基督教国家的一封信:对应》。欲知更多信息,请登录www.ThinkAgain.us。

原罪教义—遗传问题?
当我们考查基督教的原罪教义时,我确信你会不赞同保罗的说法,因为你将你的道德观局限于那些促进幸福和减轻人类痛苦的行动。理查德•道金斯在《神的妄想》中问道:“是什么伦理哲学甚至在每个孩子出生之前就使他继承了远祖的罪?” 27我怀疑你也会问同样的问题。我觉得道金斯的疑问有趣的地方在于,他显然无视了因原罪产生的这些概念。注意他用了“继承”这个词。如果首先把它用于遗传领域,我觉得没什么不妥。我们不是人人都带着压迫我们的亚当之罪出生的。而是,我们每人出生时都有着内在的罪恶行为的倾向;自私的感觉,它让我们想要增强个人的快乐。我们大多数人不总是道德的,相反我们偶尔把这种行为看作是有罪的,即使只是想到在此过程中我们会对别人造成伤害。从我们出生起,我们就表现出自私的行为。你也许会说,可是孩子们不是因为饿了才哭喊吵到妈妈吗?这种行为在道德上不是中立的吗?这难道不仅仅是保证我们生存的必须吗?是,不过这种保证我们度过婴儿期的同样自私倾向也会使一个孩子伤害另一个孩子,只为得到一个羡慕的玩具。突然间,我们本来只是促进个人幸福的举动变成了我们促进人类苦难的手段。

这是否意味着我们的基因构成中有原罪?我说自从亚当犯错后,就一直是这样。记得吗,遗传学家把人类基因组中98%的DNA都列为“垃圾DNA” 28,这可能暗示着它只是纯粹的结构功能,也或许有尚未被发现的解码功能。这是否意味着我们终将分离出一个单独的“罪基因”?也许,但出于神学原因,我觉得不会。更可能的是,“罪特质”已经加密在整个基因组中,比一个超基因都要更复杂。然而,有什么定义比“朝向自私的基因”更契合理查德•道金斯的“自私基因”29呢?一个使生命体去寻求自己的最高兴趣(例如,自私),甚至达到让别人受罪的地步(例如,罪),这肯定是一个“适当的”基因。按照自然选择,这样的基因将永远不能从人类的基因库中根除。

原罪教义—道德
理查德•道金斯提出道德是有达尔文起源的。尽管进化使我们都拥有了自私基因,这并不意味着有一个自私的有机体、自私的群体或是自私的物种。他提出有四种利他主义通过自然选择进化而来。他定义互惠利他主义如同你帮我抓背我也帮你抓背。亲人利他主义使得亲戚们“照顾自己人”。第三,他说当某人想要获得善良慷慨的名声时会产生利他主义。而最后,某人如果特别慷慨就会获得正宗的广告效应。当然,道金斯没有意识到这些“道德”范例中没有一个能代表无私的利他主义。每一位利他主义者都在其行动中得到既得的私利,即其自私的动机。尽管你和道金斯都称基督徒为善只是因为他们相信神看着他们所做的一切,无神论版本的道德则暗示着我们只有在“有我们的好处”时才会为善。为“行善”而行善看来是人类物种中一样罕见的商品。圣诞老人除了煤炭还能送些什么也不得而知了。

促进个人幸福和减轻人类苦难不总是重叠的。确实,如果我们利他地帮助飓风的受害者减轻其苦难,这种行动会给我们带来个人的幸福和成就感。然而,我们常常以别人为代价来促进自身的幸福。我们看看你说的另一句话:“看看高层首席执行官的工资和同公司一般职员的工资比:英国是24:1;法国,15:1;瑞典,13:1;而在80%人口都期待在审判日被招至神面前的美国,比率是475:1。”你再次犯了逻辑上的含糊谬误,利用统计数字达到自己的目的。你引用的《纽约书评》文章单单提出一个定语“80%人口都期待在审判日被招至神面前的”。美国人口的宗教归属和高层首席执行官的提拔到哪些职位毫无关系。基督教的价值观或许有助于某人被选到某个政治岗位,但对一个首席执行官进入公司高层没什么影响。构成那个小小的精英首席执行官群体的人数可能少到只能代表哪怕是美国无神论者的1%的一小部分。而要到达此高位所需的时间和精力常使人没什么时间做别的事,比如,参加宗教仪式,因此,在此道路上也常常造成一点人类的苦难。我们都继承了罪吗?绝对是。这意味着我们无力为善吗?不是,只是我们无力只为善;我们肯定也会犯罪。

继续读!

读《给基督教国家的一封信:回应》第一页。

脚注:
27 理查德•道金斯,《神的妄想》(纽约:霍顿米弗林,2006年),第253页。
28 http://www.ornl.gov/sci/techresources/Human_Genome/
publicat/primer2001/1.shtml and http://www.ornl.gov/sci/techresources/Human_Genome/
glossary/glossary_j.shtml。
29 理查德•道金斯,《自私基因:30周年版》(伦敦:牛津大学出版社,2006年)
30 理查德•道金斯,《神的妄想》,第215页。


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:




English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


门徒训练

祈祷是什么?
《十诫》
原罪教义
基督信仰的证据
《圣经》中的奴隶
地狱存在么?
找到神
性和《圣经》
Additional Content To Explore...

崇拜
团契
事工
宣道
 
 
科学上神存在吗?
哲学上神存在吗?
圣经是真实的吗?
神是谁?
耶稣是谁?
哪个宗教?
在神中成长
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
搜索
 
Add 原罪教义 to My Google!
Add 原罪教义 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 原罪教义
我看世界 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2014 AllAboutWorldview.org, 保留所有权利。

Doctrine of Original Sin

allaboutworldview

Doctrine of Original Sin – A Matter of Genetics?
As we examine the Christian doctrine of original sin, I am sure you will disagree with Paul’s statement, since you limit your view of morality to those actions that promote happiness or ease human suffering. Richard Dawkins in The God Delusion asks “What kind of ethical philosophy is it that condemns every child, even before it is born, to inherit the sin of a remote ancestor?”27 I suspect you’d ask much the same question. What I find interesting about Dawkins’ query is his apparent incognizance of the concepts it entails. Notice his use of the word “inherit.” While primarily applied to the field of genetics, I don’t find its use inappropriate here. We are not all born with the burden of Adam’s specific sin pressing down upon us. Rather, we are each born with an inherent tendency toward sinful behavior; a sense of selfishness that yields a desire to promote our own personal happiness. Contrary to always being morally virtuous, most of us would categorize such behavior as sinful at times, even if only in the sense that, in the process, we may cause suffering to others. From the moment of our birth, we exhibit selfish behavior. But, you may argue, don’t all babies disturb their mothers by crying in order to be fed? Isn’t this behavior morally neutral? Isn’t this simply a necessity that assures our survival? Yes, yet this same tendency toward selfishness, that assures our survival past infancy, causes one child to hurt another simply to obtain a coveted toy. Suddenly, what originally simply promoted our personal happiness has become a means by which we promote human suffering.

Does this mean we have original sin built into our genetic makeup? I’d suggest that since the time of Adam’s fall, it has been. Remember, almost 98% of the DNA in the human genome geneticists still classify as “junk DNA,”28 which may imply a purely structural function or an encoding function that has not yet been identified. Does this mean that we may eventually isolate a single “sin gene”? Perhaps, but for theological reasons, I suspect not. More likely, the “sin trait” has been encrypted within the entire genome, more complex than even a supergene. However, what would better fit the definition of Richard Dawkins’ “selfish gene”29 than a gene for selfishness? A gene that causes an organism to seek its own best interests (i.e. selfishness), even to the point of causing other humans to suffer (i.e. sin), would certainly qualify as a “fit” gene. According to natural selection, such a gene will never be eradicated from the human gene pool.

Doctrine of Original Sin – Morality
Richard Dawkins suggests that morality has a Darwinian origin. While evolution has endowed us all with selfish genes, this does not imply a selfish organism, selfish group, or selfish species.30 He suggests that four types of altruism have evolved via natural selection. Reciprocal altruism he defines as the 'you scratch my back, I'll scratch yours' type. Kin altruism causes related individuals to 'care for their own.' Third, he presents the altruism that arises when one individual desires to attain a reputation for kindness and generosity. And finally, there is the authentic advertising an individual gains from being conspicuously generous. Of course, Dawkins fails to recognize that none of these examples of "morality" represent classical selfless altruism. In each case, the altruist has a vested self-interest in the action, a self-serving motive. While both you and Dawkins claim that Christians only do good because they believe God is watching everything they do, the atheist version of morality implies that we only do good when there is something "in it for us." Goodness for “goodness' sake” seems a rare commodity in the human species. It’s a wonder Santa ever delivers anything but coal!

Promoting one’s own happiness and easing human suffering do not always overlap. Granted, if we act altruistically and ease human suffering by helping hurricane victims, this action will likely bring us a sense of personal happiness and accomplishment. However, often times we promote our own happiness at the expense of others. Let’s look at another statement you made: “Consider the ratio of salaries paid to top-tier CEOs and those paid to the same firms’ average employees: in Britain it is 24:1; in France, 15:1; in Sweden, 13:1; in the United States, where 80 percent of the population expects to be called before God on Judgment Day, it is 475:1.” Once again you’ve adopted the logical fallacy of equivocation and used statistics to your own ends. The New York Review of Books article you cited leaves out the adjectival phrase “where 80 percent of the population expects to be called before God on Judgment Day.” The religious affiliations of the American population had nothing whatsoever to do with top-tier CEOs’ elections to those positions. Christian values may help someone get elected to political office, but they will have little effect on a CEO making it up the corporate ladder. The number of individuals who comprise that small, select group of CEOs of major companies in America is likely so small that it represents merely a fraction of one percent of even American atheists. The amount of time and energy one has to spend to achieve such a high level position often leaves little time for anything else, like, for instance, religious observance, and frequently causes a bit of human suffering along the way. Do we all inherit original sin? Absolutely. Does this mean that we have no capacity to do good? No, only that we do not have the capacity to only do good; we must also sin.

Keep Reading!

Read Page 1 of Letter To A Christian Nation: A Response.


Footnotes:
27 Richard Dawkins, The God Delusion (New York: Houghton Mifflin, 2006), p. 253. 28 http://www.ornl.gov/sci/techresources/Human_Genome/
publicat/primer2001/1.shtml and http://www.ornl.gov/sci/techresources/Human_Genome/
glossary/glossary_j.shtml.
29 Richard Dawkins, The Selfish Gene: 30th Anniversary Edition (London: Oxford University Press, 2006). 30Richard Dawkins, The God Delusion, p. 215.


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?