基督信仰的证据

基督信仰的证据

 
当前位置: 我看世界 >> 基督信仰的证据

本页节选自R.C. 梅特卡夫《致基督教国家的一封信:对应》。欲知更多信息,请登录www.ThinkAgain.us。

基督信仰的证据
基督信仰有证据吗?你常说那些将信仰建立在不充足的证据之上的人是不理智的。说到基督徒,你称:“你觉得自己有理由认为耶稣是神的儿子,而其指导原则就是高度的道德智慧,《圣经》本身不是充满谎言的。你是在用自己的道德本能去证实《圣经》的智慧。”50 如果我们的道德本能和感觉就是全部构成支撑基督教的证据,我会承认这样的信仰缺乏理智的一致性。如果我们的道德本能和感觉构成支持基督教的所有证据的话,我也认为这种信仰缺乏合理的一致性。这就如同摩门教传教士要你读《摩门经》,直到你能够获得一种温暖和祥和的感觉,确定其真实性。那种“热血沸腾”就是对《摩门经》的追求的最好证据,因为科学和考古当然无法证明它的那些宣称。据称,约瑟夫•史密斯在纽约州北部一座叫作卡谟拉的小山附近发现了刻在黄金页片上的《摩门经》经文。尽管纽约州巴尔米拉的居民每年夏天都举行卡谟拉山庆典,可是没有考古证据可以证实此山的位置。杨百翰的《证道录》中描述的卡谟拉诸事件目前均无证据可以证实。

    约瑟拿到页片时,天使告诉他把这些页片带回卡谟拉山,他照做了。奥利弗说当约瑟和奥利弗到那里时,山打开了,他们走进一个山洞,里面有很宽敞的一个屋子。他说当时他没想是阳光还是人工照明,不过屋子里就像白昼一般。他们把页片摆在屋子中央的桌子上。桌下还有两英尺高的一堆页片。屋子里的页片总共加起来恐怕要装很多车。屋子角落和沿着墙边都是页片。51
也许你认为基督信仰是“闭眼一跳”进入一个充满矛盾和不可靠论断的世界中。你似乎认为基督教的唯一回报就是让我们自我感觉良好。这是绝对错误的。基督教历史性可以从考古和历史两方面得到支持。我们考查一下最近发现的考古和历史证据。

1990年11月,考古学家在耶路撒冷的一个骨库里发现了公元18-37年大祭司该亚法的骸骨52。骨库的前部装饰精美,两边镌刻着希伯来文的约瑟夫巴该亚法。耶稣被捕后曾被士兵带到大祭司该亚法那里。《马太福音》26中记述了此事。

1900年代早期发现的西罗亚池在2004年末又有了新发现。一位下水道工人发现了距原池约200码处的石阶,这引发了考古人员的兴趣。53 这座池子历史上是人们进入神庙前的公共浴池,但多年来人们一直不知早先发现的那个狭小池子如何能让众人洗浴。新发现的这个池子是边长225英尺的矩形,还有梯级通入。《圣经》中,耶稣在这里医治了生来瞎眼的人。54

我还想说几个重要的考古发现。大卫王宫的地基55 已在耶路撒冷发现。(历代志下8:11)在非利士勇士歌利亚的家乡迦特的挖掘工作中,考古工作者发现了一个陶片,上面刻着原闪米特文字的“歌利亚”。56 (撒母耳记上 17:4) 在以色列北部的米吉多,工人们在扩建一个以色列监狱时发现了一块精美的镶嵌地板,上面刻着“奉耶稣基督神的名建造”。57 这样的发现证明了《圣经》记述作为历史叙述的准确性,也证明了耶稣的存在和早期基督徒对其神性的普遍认同。

基督信仰的证据—高等教育
大多数知识界无神论者对于这类证据不和基督教争论。然而,读者必须注意这些证据是确实存在的。你可以称这类证据是“软”科学。然而,大多数无神论者将基督徒诉诸超自然的声称认为是绝对难以置信的。要说到这些声称的“硬”科学证据,基督教承认它是有所欠缺的。然而,有着基督教世界观的个人常常在各大高校得不到研究教授职位却毫不奇怪。无神论已经暗中渗透了我们的高等教育系统。去年,贝勒大学的弗朗西斯•贝克威斯博士差点由于其基督教世界观失去了哲学终身教授职位。当重点大学在“硬”科学方面招聘时,他们也不喜欢有着基督教世界观的人选。各系的招募委员会成员也大都从未认真考虑过基督教的真理宣称。这或许可以解释你提出的为什么国家科学院中93%的成员都是无神论者。58潜意识中基督徒都被劝阻不要从事硬科学专业,除非他们上基督文理学院。我在二十五年前就在一个世俗大学中有过这样的挣扎。我上硕士时幸运地遇到一位导师,他尊重我的意见,支持我与之保持分歧的权利。我如果是在另一所嘲讽、而不是支持我观点的学校,我或许早就不做科学了。还要加上一句:此人一直圣诞节坚持工作,而达尔文生日时休息。我们代表完全对立的两种世界观,然而却可以和谐合作。

继续读!

读《给基督教国家的一封信:回应》第一页。

脚注:
50 山姆•哈里斯,第49页。
51 杨百翰,《证道录》卷19。
(http://journalofdiscourses.org/Vol_19/JD19-036.html).
52 见 http://www.bib-arch.org/bswbOOossuary_Lemaire.pdf.
53 见http://www.bib-arch.org/siloam.pdf.
54 见《约翰福音》9。
55 见 http://www.leaderu.com/theology
/palacedavid.html and http://www.archaeologynews.org/link.
asp ?ID=73262&Title=Eilat%20Mazar:%20Uncovering
%20King%20David's%20Palace.
56 见 http://www.imra.org.il/story.php3?id=27455.
57 见 http://www.archaeology.org.il/newsticker.asp?id=24.
58 山姆•哈里斯,第39页。


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:




English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


门徒训练

地狱存在么?
祈祷是什么?
原罪教义
《圣经》中的奴隶
《十诫》
找到神
基督信仰的证据
性和《圣经》
Additional Content To Explore...

崇拜
团契
事工
宣道
 
 
科学上神存在吗?
哲学上神存在吗?
圣经是真实的吗?
神是谁?
耶稣是谁?
哪个宗教?
在神中成长
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
搜索
 
Add 基督信仰的证据 to My Google!
Add 基督信仰的证据 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 基督信仰的证据
我看世界 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2014 AllAboutWorldview.org, 保留所有权利。

Evidence for the Christian Faith

allaboutworldview

Evidence for the Christian Faith
Is there evidence for the Christian faith? You often refer to the irrationality of people of faith who believe based upon insufficient evidence. Referring to Christians, you state, “you feel that you are in a position to judge that Jesus is the Son of God, that the Golden Rule is the height of moral wisdom, and that the Bible is not itself brimming with lies. You are using your own moral intuitions to authenticate the wisdom of the Bible.”50 If our moral intuitions and feelings formed the sum total of our evidences in support of Christianity, I would agree that such a faith lacked rational coherence. This resembles the faith of Mormon missionaries who ask you to read from the Book of Mormon until you obtain a sense of warmth and peace that assures you of its truth. This “burning in the bosom” must provide the best evidence the Book of Mormon has going for it, since scientific and archaeological evidence certainly doesn’t support its claims. Allegedly, Joseph Smith found the text for the Book of Mormon inscribed on gold plates buried near a hill named Cumorah in upstate New York. Even though Palmyra, NY residents hold a Hill Cumorah Pageant every summer, no archaeological evidence has confirmed the location of such a hill. Nothing has ever been found that substantiates the description of the events at Cumorah described by Brigham Young in his Journal of Discourses.

    When Joseph got the plates, the angel instructed him to carry them back to the hill Cumorah, which he did. Oliver says that when Joseph and Oliver went there, the hill opened, and they walked into a cave, in which there was a large and spacious room. He says he did not think, at the time, whether they had the light of the sun or artificial light; but that it was just as light as day. They laid the plates on a table; it was a large table that stood in the room. Under this table there was a pile of plates as much as two feet high, and there were altogether in this room more plates than probably many wagon loads; they were piled up in the corners and along the walls.51
You assume that the Christian faith is a “blind leap” into a world filled with contradictions and unwarranted assertions. You seem to think that Christianity’s only redemptive quality lies in its ability to make us feel good about ourselves. This is patently false. The historicity of Christianity has both archaeological and historical support. Let us examine briefly just the recently discovered archaeological and historical evidence.

In November of 1990, archaeologists recovered the bones of Caiaphas,52 high priest from 18-37 AD, from an ossuary in Jerusalem. The front of the ossuary was beautifully adorned and an inscription on two sides bore the name Yusef bar Caifa in Hebrew. Soldiers took Jesus to Caiaphas the high priest upon his arrest. We find the account of this incident in Matthew 26.

The pool of Siloam, originally thought to have been discovered in the early 1900s, received new interest in late 2004. A sewer crew uncovered stone steps about 200 yards from the original pool that piqued the interest of archaeologists.53 The pool had historic significance as a public bath to allow washing before entrance into the Temple, but for years, people have wondered how the original small and narrow pool might have served this purpose. The newly found pool measures 225 ft. along one side, forming a rectangle with tiered steps leading into it. Biblically, the pool served as the site where Jesus’ healed a man blind since birth.54

I would also like to mention several other noteable archaeological discoveries. The beginnings of David’s Palace55 have been found in Jerusalem. (2 Chronicles 8:11) While digging in Gath, the home of the Philistine warrior Goliath, archaeologists have uncovered a shard of pottery inscribed with two Proto-Semitic renderings of the name “Goliath.”56 (1 Samuel 17:4) In Megiddo, in Northern Israel, while extending an Israeli prison, workers uncovered a beautiful mosaic floor bearing the inscription “built in honor of Jesus Christ the God.”57 Discoveries such as these provide support for the accuracy of the biblical texts as historical narratives and also attest to the existence of Jesus and the prevailing view of his divinity among early Christians.

Evidence for the Christian Faith – Higher Education
Most intellectual atheists do not struggle with Christianty over this sort of evidence. Nevertheless, it is important for the reader to note that such evidence does exist. You would classify this sort of evidence as “soft” science. Instead, the majority of atheists reject Christian claims that appeal to the supernatural as utterly implausible. When it comes to “hard” scientific evidence for these sorts of claims, Christianity has admittedly fallen short. However, that shouldn’t surprise us when individuals with a Christian worldview are routinely passed over for research professorships at major colleges and universities. Atheism has surreptitiously infiltrated our higher educational system. This past year, Dr. Francis Beckwith of Baylor University almost lost a tenure track position in Philosophy, specifically due to his Christian worldview. When major universities seek applicants for positions in the “hard” sciences, they don’t favor applicants who espouse a Christian worldview. Each department forms a search committee composed of members of that department, most of whom have never seriously considered Christian truth claims. This might explain why membership in the National Academy of Sciences is 93 percent atheist, as you point out.58 Christians are subconsciously dissuaded from hard science majors unless they attend a Christian Liberal Arts college. I went through just this sort of struggle twenty-five years ago at a major secular university. While working on my Masters Degree, I was fortunate to have an advisor who respected my opinions and supported my right to disagree with him. Had I been at another school, where my views were ridiculed, rather than respected, I may have left the sciences altogether. I might add that this man always worked on Christmas day, but took the day off for Darwin’s birthday. We represented two completely opposing viewpoints yet found it possible to work together in harmony.

Keep Reading!

Read Page 1 of Letter To A Christian Nation: A Response.


Footnotes:
50 Sam Harris, p. 49.
51 Brigham Young, Journal of Discourses 19.
(http://journalofdiscourses.org/Vol_19/JD19-036.html).
52 See http://www.bib-arch.org/bswbOOossuary_Lemaire.pdf.
53 See http://www.bib-arch.org/siloam.pdf.
54 See John 9.
55 See http://www.leaderu.com/theology
/palacedavid.html and http://www.archaeologynews.org/link.
asp
?ID=73262&Title=Eilat%20Mazar:%20Uncovering
%20King%20David's%20Palace.
56 See http://www.imra.org.il/story.php3?id=27455.
57 See http://www.archaeology.org.il/newsticker.asp?id=24.
58 Sam Harris, p. 39.


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?