找到神

找到神

 - 个人反思
当前位置: 我看世界 >> 找到神

本页节选自R.C. 梅特卡夫《致基督教国家的一封信:对应》。欲知更多信息,请登录www.ThinkAgain.us。

找到神—个人反思
我祖父是约翰霍普金斯大学的昆虫学家,一生致力于研究传播疾病的昆虫,特别是蚊子。他将南美和中美洲主要给人类传播疟疾的蚊子命名为按蚊达令吉。他对于理解这些疾病媒介极为热情,更急于使更多人能够知道如何控制它们,当然,也热爱我的祖母。

在还没有时髦科学现实主义者这种说法之前,我祖父已然是一位科学现实主义者。他相信他对按蚊种的认真文献准备和描述,再加上祖母栩栩如生的画图增色,一定会让未来的科学家了解如何减少疟疾的发生。科学让他可以客观研究现实,不断形成新的理解。对于现实主义,哲学家J.P.莫兰提出:

    (斯坦利)杰奇又说科学和自然神学的进程相似—都超越感官现象而利用智识的大胆跨越来假设这些现象的无形原因。因此自然神学和科学现实主义都反对原始实证主义而是使用相似论证结构来给出最佳解释。96
我父亲获得硬科学的学士和硕士学位后,又在耶鲁大学获得哲学博士学位,在约翰霍普金斯大学应用物理实验室做了四十多年的技术主编。我年轻时曾和家人到华盛顿郊区的一个独神教教堂。在主日学校美术手工课常和听《圣经》故事冲突,这些故事讲得仿佛像《伊索寓言》一样。我记得12岁的我站在教堂外,一个朋友问我:“你信神吗?”当时我差不多就重复父亲的话说:“如果整部《圣经》不过是一串故事的话我就不信!”作为童子军的我背诵12条童军法时总是不背最后一条“童军是虔诚的。”在学校背诵《效忠誓词》时我也总是当全班背到“以神的名”时保持沉默。我当时就在静静地反叛着。

找到神—生活的改变
十八九岁的时候我开始自己思考宗教。现代无神论者所称的自由思想使我脱离了无神论最终走向耶稣基督。1975年,大学第一学期的我约会了一个基督教年轻姑娘,她鼓励我完整地读一下《新约》,而不是从一个《圣经》“故事”跳到下一个。她的建议使我对于耶稣基督和他对世界的影响有了更好的理解。尽管我接受的教育训练我用科学的镜头看待一切,我却发现这个基督仅用科学是无法解释的。1975年12月,我意识到基督中的神,这点很难向那些没有这种经历的人解释,自此我的生活发生了极大的变化。当时有无数神学概念我还没有理解。 并且在那个年龄我也有无数科学概念也没有理解,所以我不能认定这两个学科最终不能互相支持。过去三十年中我一直试图更加理解这些概念以确定两者是否可以协同并进。我坚信是可以的。

与此同时父亲已是一个更直言不讳的无神论者。他在1980年代末退休,搬到佛罗里达。我父母起初去了一个独神论教会。可是后来此教会解散,我父亲和其他人一起带领一些解散后的人创建了一个基于自然神论的新教堂。显然父亲和我的世界观极为不同。2003年末,80岁的老父得了肺炎住院。尽管痊愈了但父亲的肺部虚弱,又得了肺间质纤维化,在2004年父亲节夺去了他的生命。在他住院和去世期间我给他看了我下本书(暂定名为《与基督的碰撞:复活的科学》)的初稿。我三次从科罗拉多的家飞去佛罗里达看他。我最后一次去看他的时候他把我拉到一旁小声说:“我觉得你是对的。我真的觉得你是对的。”这是我终生一直祈祷的改变,不过说实话我没想到真会见到。他开始说死亡是“转变”,而不仅是灭亡,表示真正相信有天堂的存在。我最后一次和他谈话是在一次电话中,基本上一直是我一个人在说。父亲的大脑官能依然灵敏,但他很难边说话边呼吸。我们谈了五分钟或是十分钟的时候,父亲突然说不了话了。接下来的约二十分钟里只是我对他谈了他新建立的信仰。放下电话前我告诉父亲“相信耶稣。”第二天父亲去了。祭典仪式上母亲问我:“那天晚上你对他说了什么?他一个多小时都不放下电话,比前些天都安详宁静。”我直到后来在祭典仪式对大家讲话时才告诉妈妈答案。当我对父亲建立在形而上自然神论的新教堂的会众讲到和父亲最后的谈话时,我告诉了他们父亲找到的希望是什么。

继续读!

读《给基督教国家的一封信:回应》第一页。

脚注:
96 J.P. 莫兰,《基督教与科学本质》(急流城:贝克书局,1989年),第203页;斯坦利•杰奇,《科学之路和通往神的道路》(芝加哥:芝加哥大学出版社,1978年)。


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:




English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


门徒训练

找到神
基督信仰的证据
祈祷是什么?
性和《圣经》
地狱存在么?
原罪教义
《圣经》中的奴隶
《十诫》
Additional Content To Explore...

崇拜
团契
事工
宣道
 
 
科学上神存在吗?
哲学上神存在吗?
圣经是真实的吗?
神是谁?
耶稣是谁?
哪个宗教?
在神中成长
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
搜索
 
Add 找到神 to My Google!
Add 找到神 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 找到神
我看世界 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2014 AllAboutWorldview.org, 保留所有权利。

Finding God

allaboutworldview

Finding God - A Personal Reflection
My grandfather worked as an entomologist at Johns Hopkins University and devoted his life to understanding disease-carrying insects, especially mosquitoes. He conferred the name Anopheles darlingi on the mosquito of South and Central America most responsible for transmitting malaria to humans. His passion for understanding these disease vectors was only exceeded by his passion to enable others to learn how to control them...and, admittedly, by his passion for my grandmother!

A scientific realist prior to the time the term became en vogue, my grandfather believed that his careful documentation and description of Anopheles species, embellished by my grandmother’s life-like drawings, would help future scientists learn how to decrease the incidence of malaria. Science provided him an objective study of reality that enabled progressive understanding to take place. On realism, philosopher J.P. Moreland notes:

    [Stanley] Jaki adds that science and natural theology proceed in a similar way -- both use a bold leap of the intellect beyond sensory phenomena to the postulation of unseen causes responsible for those phenomena. Thus both natural theology and a realist understanding of science reject crude empiricism and use similar structures in arguments to the best explanation.96
After receiving Bachelors and Masters Degrees in the hard sciences, my father received his Ph.D. in Philosophy from Yale University and worked as the chief technical editor for Johns Hopkins University’s Applied Physics Laboratory for over 40 years. During my youth I attended a Unitarian Universalist church in the suburbs of Washington, DC with my family. Sunday school often came down to a choice between arts and crafts or listening to Bible stories depicted in a way that made them analogous to Aesop’s Fables. I recall standing outside the church at age twelve answering a friend who asked, “Do you believe in God?” At the time I did little more than reiterate my father’s beliefs, “Not if the whole Bible is just a bunch of stories!” As a Boy Scout reciting the 12 Scout Laws I always stopped short of the last one, “a scout is reverent.” While reciting the Pledge of Allegiance at school I consistently went silent while the rest of the class said “under God.” I was a quiet rebel.

Finding God – A Changed Life
At the age of eighteen or nineteen I began to think about religion for myself. What modern atheists call freethought led me away from atheism and ultimately to Jesus Christ. In 1975, during my first semester of college, I dated a Christian young lady who encouraged me to read the New Testament as a whole, rather than just jumping from one Bible “story” to the next. Her suggestion helped me to view Jesus Christ and his impact on the world with greater understanding. Although my upbringing had trained me to view everything through the lens of science, I detected more to this Christ than science alone could explain. In December of 1975, my life radically changed due to an awareness of God in Christ that I find difficult to explain to those who haven’t experienced a similar event. There were countless theological concepts I had yet to understand. Then again, there were countless scientific concepts I had yet to understand at that age, so I could not rule out the possibility that these two disciplines would not ultimately support one another. For the past thirty years I have sought to deepen my understanding of these issues to determine whether such a synergy is possible. I am convinced it is.

In the meantime my father had become a more outspoken atheist. He retired in the late 1980s and moved to Florida. My parents attended a Unitarian Universalist church at first, but in time the church split and he and some others led an offshoot group to develop a new church based on Naturalism. Obviously, my father’s worldview differed radically from my own. In late 2003, my 80-year-old father contracted pneumonia and was hospitalized. Although he recovered from the pneumonia, his lungs weakened and he contracted pulmonary fibrosis, which took his life on Father’s Day in 2004. During the interval between his hospitalization and his death I gave him a preliminary draft of the manuscript for my next book, tentatively titled Colliding with Christ: The Science of Resurrection. I flew from my home in Colorado three times to visit him in Florida during that period. During my last visit he took me aside and whispered, “I think you’re right. I really think you’re right.” This led to a change I had prayed for all my life, but truthfully, did not ever expect to witness. He began to talk about “the transition,” a manner of speaking about death that, rather than mere annihilation, expressed a real faith in the reality of heaven. My last conversation with him occurred during a rather one-sided telephone call. His mental faculties remained as sharp as ever, but he found it difficult to both speak and breathe. We spoke for five or ten minutes when suddenly he could speak no more. I spent the next twenty minutes talking to him about his newly found faith. I set down the phone with the final admonition to “Trust Jesus.” The next day he died. At the memorial service a few days later my mother inquired, “What did you say to him that night? He would not let go of that phone for over an hour and he appeared more calm and peaceful than I’d seen him in days.” I saved my answer to her question until later in the service when I spoke to everyone. As I related our last conversation to the entire congregation of my father’s new church, founded on metaphysical naturalism, I offered them the same hope that he had found.

Keep Reading!

Read Page 1 of Letter To A Christian Nation: A Response.


Footnotes:
96 J.P. Moreland, Christianity and the Nature of Science (Grand Rapids: Baker Books, 1989), 203; Stanley Jaki, The Road of Science and the Ways to God (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1978).


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?