《致基督教国家的一封信》

《致基督教国家的一封信》

 - 对哈里斯的回应
当前位置: 我看世界 >> 《致基督教国家的一封信》

本页节选自R.C. 梅特卡夫《致基督教国家的一封信:对应》。欲知更多信息,请登录www.ThinkAgain.us。

《致基督教国家的一封信》—山姆•哈里斯的针锋相对
应该对山姆•哈里斯的《致基督教国家的一封信》给出一个智识的回应,能让读者有理由相信东正教的可信度和正直性。不是所有自称基督徒的人都能完全体现耶稣的道德教训。事实上,很多人的言语和行动都使基督之名蒙羞。然而,上千万的美国智慧的基督徒将他们的基督信仰和无神论做了有心的比较,发现后者始终缺乏道德正直的证据和真实基础保证。这不是说无神论者不能成为道德的人过道德的生活,只是他们的道德缺乏根基。无神论没有给社会提供内在的基础以界定正确和错误,除了通过流行舆论,但是不会有多少人认为多数就是正确的。

当有人“被基督的爱转化” 1,而不会“极度,甚至是杀气腾腾地不容忍批评” 2时,这个论述对新教、东正教和福音教会做出的合理辩护或许对读者是有用的。请理解一开始“东正教”、“新教”和“天主教”3这些词语被各教派采用之前,都是有其特定意义的。我说“东正教”只是因为它遵行自基督以来基督教会定义的一切根本教义。“新教”指的是16世纪由马丁路德在1517年发起并由加尔文、茨温利和诺克斯继续的宗教改革后出现的基督教分支。宗教改革当时是为了反抗当时的罗马天主教会的腐败。自宗教改革开始,新教徒就联合起来反对教皇权威,但后来因为一些与东正教核心教义相比微不足道的教义而脱离正教。伊斯兰教、犹太教、佛教、印度教以及几乎所有其它的信仰都与东正教显著不同。哈里斯以及理查德•道金斯4书中都始终有一个错误,即他们常常把所有信仰都归为“宗教”,因此模糊了其中教义上的差别。

因为在宗教改革前500年,罗马天主教会是基督教的主要代表。11世纪罗马天主教会和东正教分裂,其间东正教谴责教皇未经大公会议同意就修改《尼西亚信经》。罗马教皇批准了十字军东征和西班牙宗教裁判所等恐怖事件,可哈里斯把这些都统统归在“基督教”名下。西班牙宗教裁判所尽管起初在1400年代晚期主要制裁假意从犹太教和伊斯兰教转信罗马天主教的人,后来却把重点转向宗教改革运动后的新教教徒。

约翰•加尔文和马丁•路德这样的新教教徒似乎在传记作家的观点之下性格发生了变化。哈里斯称“约翰•加尔文主张成批屠杀异教徒、变节者、犹太人和巫师,” 5,这或许是从威廉•曼彻斯特的《只能用火点亮的世界》6中发现的。肯尼思•斯科特•烈反对这种观点,他说:“尽管加尔文请求(民事当局)采取更为慈悲的处决方式,塞尔维特还是被用火刑处死…”7事实上,迈克尔•塞尔维特是加尔文时代唯一在日内瓦被处死的人,而那个时代这种处决在别处极其常见。8尽管两万历史学家的意见都不一样,历史上绝大多数以基督名义的凶残暴行都是因为早期罗马天主教会的道德沦丧,而不是基督教新教。在16世纪中期的英格兰,都铎王朝的玛丽一世,也称“血腥玛丽”,曾处死新教徒,为的是使英格兰回归罗马天主教。在她在位的短短5年间,她下令处死280多个新教教徒,这比西班牙宗教裁判所任何五年内处死的人数都要多很多。玛丽一世还处死了许多著名的改革者,如托马斯•克兰默、休•拉蒂莫、尼古拉斯•雷德利和约翰•布拉福德。

《致基督教国家的一封信》—看看现代宗教
在今日美国福音派新教基督徒的人数大概比罗马天主教徒多一倍。9在全世界范围内,罗马天主教一直在阔步弥合先前存在的裂痕。1964年,教皇保罗六世约见了东正教领导人、君士坦丁堡主教哥拉,并撤销了1054年大分裂的咒逐。类似的大公合一努力也见于1994年由查尔斯•科尔森和约翰•豪斯神父起草,由福音教派和天主教会共同发布的文件。这两次和解的努力都招致合理的异议,因为彼此教义显著不同,然而两次都没有产生历史上曾有过的或是当今伊斯兰极端主义信徒所施行的暴力事件。

最后一点,罗马天主教会和新教教会中都有真正的基督信徒。反之,如山姆•哈里斯以及理查德•道金斯在他们收到的信件中所发现的,两教会里也有很多打着基督的旗号却不能真正代表基督的人。 耶稣在《马太福音》13:24-30中详述了这一真理,通常称为“麦子和稗子寓言”。四福音中有三部福音中耶稣问彼得:“你们说我是谁?”这个问题。这个问题亟待今日有生之人的回答,因为对这个问题的正确解答会带来生命永远的改变,朝着正确的方向,因着神的恩典。

继续读!

脚注: 1山姆•哈里斯,《致基督教国家的一封信》,克诺夫:纽约,2006年),vii.
2 同上。
3 “天主教”一词指的是各地组成真正教会的所有真正基督徒的统一团体,而不是某一具体派别、群体或团体。其首字母大写时也常用于代表罗马天主教会,而不包含任何新教概念。
4 具体见其新书《神的妄想》。
5山姆•哈里斯,同上,第12页。
6 威廉•曼彻斯特,《只能用火点亮的世界》(利特布朗公司:波士顿,1992年)
7 肯尼思•斯科特•烈,《基督教史》,(哈帕:旧金山,1975年)第759页。
8 见阿里斯特•麦格拉斯,《约翰加尔文的一生》,(布莱克威尔出版社:牛津,1993年),各处。
9 http://pewforum.org/publications/reports/poll2002.pdf,第49页。


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:




English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


热门话题

基督教和科学
回应《致基督教国家的一封信》
善和恶
山姆•哈里斯
胚胎干细胞
无神论信仰
《致基督教国家的一封信》
Additional Content To Explore...

科学上神存在吗?
哲学上神存在吗?
圣经是真实的吗?
神是谁?
耶稣是谁?
哪个宗教?
如何在神中成长?
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 《致基督教国家的一封信》 to My Google!
Add 《致基督教国家的一封信》 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 《致基督教国家的一封信》
我看世界 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2016 AllAboutWorldview.org, 保留所有权利。

Letter to a Christian Nation

Letter to a Christian Nation – A Counter Point for Sam Harris
Letter to a Christian Nation by Sam Harris merits an intelligent response that offers the reader a rationale for the credibility and rectitude of orthodox Christianity. Not all individuals who claim to be Christians fully exemplify the moral teachings of Jesus. In fact, many by their words and actions cast a shadow on the name of Christ. Nevertheless, millions of intelligent Christians in America have thoughtfully compared their Christian faith with atheism and found the latter consistently lacking in both evidence and any real foundational warrant for moral integrity. This does not suggest that atheists cannot be moral people or live moral lives, only that they have nothing on which to ground their morality. Atheism provides society with no inherent basis upon which to distinguish between right and wrong other than by popular consensus, and few would suggest that the majority is always correct.

As one “transformed by Christ’s love”1 but not “deeply, even murderously, intolerant of criticism,”2 this treatise will prove useful to all readers as a presentation of a reasoned defense of protestant, orthodox, evangelical Christianity. Please understand at the outset that terms like “orthodox,” “protestant,” and “catholic”3 have specific meanings in their own right, prior to their adoption by certain religious sects. By “orthodox” I simply mean, that which adheres to essential doctrines of the Christian church as they have been defined and defended since the time of Christ. By “protestant” I am referring to those branches of Christianity that arose as a result of the 16th-century Reformation, initiated by Martin Luther in 1517 and perpetuated by men such as Calvin, Zwingli, and Knox. The Reformation was a protest against the corruption of the established Roman Catholic Church at the time. Since the Reformation, protestant believers have united in their rejection of the authority of the Pope, but have disaffiliated due to doctrinal nuances considered non-essential when compared with the core teachings of orthodox Christianity. The teachings of Islam, Judaism, Buddhism, Hinduism, and virtually all other faiths differ markedly from orthodox Christianity. A consistent error in Harris’ writing, as well as in the writing of Richard Dawkins,4 is the tendency to categorize all faiths under the rubric of “religion,” thereby blurring the doctrinal distinctions between them.

For most of the 500 years that preceded the Reformation, the Roman Catholic Church was the majority representative of Christianity. The 11th century saw the Great Schism between the Roman Catholic Church and the Eastern Orthodox Church, in which the Eastern Church denounced the Pope’s alteration of the Nicene Creed without the consent of an ecumenical council. The Roman papacy sanctioned the horrors of the Crusades and the Spanish Inquisition that Harris places on the shoulders of generic “Christianity.” The Spanish Inquisition, although initially focused on false converts to the Roman Church from Judaism and Islam in the late 1400s, eventually turned its focus toward Protestant Christians subsequent to the Reformation.

Protestants like John Calvin and Martin Luther seem to adopt different personalities that vary according to the point of view of the biographer. Harris claims that “John Calvin advocated the wholesale murder of heretics, apostates, Jews, and witches,”5 which he presumably discovered from William Manchester’s book A World Lit Only by Fire.6 Contrary to this view, the historian Kenneth Scott Latourette states that “in spite of Calvin’s plea [to the civil authorities] for a more merciful form of execution, Servetus was burned at the stake...”7 In fact, Michael Servetus was the only individual executed in Geneva during Calvin’s lifetime, during an era when such executions were commonplace elsewhere.8 Regardless of the difference of opinion between these two historians, the vast majority of the brutality perpetrated historically, in the name of Christ, has resulted from the turpitudes of the early Roman Catholic Church, not protestant Christianity. In mid-sixteenth century England, Mary I, of the Tudor dynasty, also known as “Bloody Mary,” executed Protestants in an effort to return England to Roman Catholicism. During her brief five year reign, she ordered the deaths of over 280 Protestant Christians, many more than those executed in any five year period during the Spanish Inquisition. Mary I was responsible for the executions of many notable reformers, such as Thomas Cranmer, Hugh Latimer, Nicholas Ridley, and John Bradford.

Letter to a Christian Nation – A Look at Modern Religion
In America today, there are approximately twice the number of evangelical Protestant Christians as there are Roman Catholic adherents.9 Worldwide, the Roman Catholic Church has made great strides to repair some of the rifts that previously existed. In 1964, Pope Paul VI met with the Eastern Orthodox leader, Ecumenical Patriarch Athenagoras I, and rescinded the anathemas of the Great Schism of 1054. A similar attempt at ecumenism occurred with the 1994 release of the document Evangelicals and Catholics Together, drafted by Charles Colson and Fr. John Neuhaus. Both of these attempts at reconciliation met with some legitimate dissent, due to distinct doctrinal differences, yet neither event yielded acts of violence such as those perpetrated historically or by extremist adherents of Islam today.

In the final analysis, true Christian believers are found in the Roman Catholic Church as well as protestant churches today. Conversely, many from both churches claim the name of Christ but do not truly represent Him, as both Sam Harris and Richard Dawkins found from letters they received. Jesus amplifies this truth in Matthew 13:24-30, commonly known as the Parable of the Wheat and the Tares. In three of the four gospels Jesus asks Peter, “Who do you say I am?” This question cries out for a response from everyone alive today, because the correct answer results in a life forever changed, in a very positive direction, by the grace of God.

Keep Reading!


Footnotes:
1 Sam Harris, Letter to a Christian Nation (Knopf: New York, 2006), p. vii.
2 Ibid.
3 The word “catholic” refers to the universal group of all true Christians everywhere who comprise the true church, not a specific sect, group, or body. When capitalized, this same word is often used to denote the Roman Catholic Church, which excludes all protestant denominations.
4 Specifically in his latest book The God Delusion.
5 Sam Harris, Ibid., p. 12.
6 William Manchester, A World Lit Only by Fire (Little, Brown & Co.: Boston, 1992).
7 Kenneth Scout Latourette, A History of Christianity (Harper: San Francisco, 1975), p. 759.
8 See Alister McGrath, A Life of John Calvin (Blackwell Publishing: Oxford, 1993), passim.
9 http://pewforum.org/publications/reports/poll2002.pdf, p. 49.


WHAT DO YOU THINK? - We have all sinned and deserve God's judgment. God, the Father, sent His only Son to satisfy that judgment for those who believe in Him. Jesus, the creator and eternal Son of God, who lived a sinless life, loves us so much that He died for our sins, taking the punishment that we deserve, was buried, and rose from the dead according to the Bible. If you truly believe and trust this in your heart, receiving Jesus alone as your Savior, declaring, "Jesus is Lord," you will be saved from judgment and spend eternity with God in heaven.

What is your response?

Yes, today I am deciding to follow Jesus

Yes, I am already a follower of Jesus

I still have questions






Facebook   YouTube   Twitter   Google+   RSS Feed




LEARN MORE