性和《圣经》

性和《圣经》

 
当前位置: 我看世界 >> 性和《圣经》

本页节选自R.C. 梅特卡夫《致基督教国家的一封信:对应》。欲知更多信息,请登录www.ThinkAgain.us。

性和《圣经》
性和《圣经》?你用下面的话总结了基督教对性的态度:

    你们(基督徒)主要关注的似乎是宇宙的造物主会见怪于人们裸身时做的事。你们的这种假道学每天都在增加人类的痛苦。36
你的结论似乎主要是回应大多数基督徒对于干细胞研究和堕胎的一致意见。你是否具体考虑过耶稣对于性说些什么呢?让我们再次看看马太福音的第五章。
    你们听见有话说,不可奸淫。只是我告诉你们,凡看见妇女就动淫念的,这人心里已经与她犯奸淫了。--《马太福音》5:27-28
耶稣的话对于他的听众来说当然是闻所未闻,那是一群被称为法利赛人的犹太拉比老师。他们一直以为只有因为贪欲而有了通奸行为才会被惩罚,耶稣是通过直接谴责淫念来转变人们的想法。

性和《圣经》—色情
色情业是利润丰厚的产业,它只靠激发淫欲赢得利润。你可以明白为什么基督教右翼组织会成为最激烈反对色情业的机构。然而为什么这样呢?在色情业最热烈的拥护者中,自由左派却为其艺术价值据理力争,并宣称那些试图限制其存在的人违背了第一修正案。耶稣知道淫欲会在多大程度上诋毁人的尊严。

然而人值得尊重么?如果只是从另一种哺乳动物物种进化而来,与其它动物一样,那么我们还真指望被尊重?这种假设表现了一种公然的物种歧视氛围,一种没有把握的对自己物种的偏爱。然而我们当中谁要选择一种没有尊严的生活?我们都有本能的尊严感,这是神学家所说imago dei(神的形象)的直接结果。我们表现出很多《圣经》里描述的神的特质,如仁爱、恩慈、同情,甚至愤怒,尽管保罗告诉我们生气却不要犯罪。37色情业把人变成物,践踏了人性内在的尊严。沉迷于色情的男士常不能履行其婚姻义务,他们通奸,遭致痛苦。许多女性因为经济原因或厌倦生活而从事色情业。尽管表面上无伤大雅,那些女性后来却后悔其行为。而且,色情业不仅影响成人,也影响孩子。

  • 可悲的是,世界上最古老的职业却拥有当今最年轻的从业人员。堂•赫尔佐克•朱厄尔在本月的(《今日基督教》)封面故事中写道:“‘红灯抢救’发现上百万的幼女和少年姑娘被诱卖淫,通常都是在为家里或妓院老板挣钱。38
无聊的家庭主妇或生活艰难的大学女生只是从事色情业的一小部分,如上述引文表明的,绝大多数还参与卖淫和贩卖人口。事实上,我们今日仍然占主导地位的唯一奴隶制形式,就是自由左派热烈拥护的色情业的直接后果—人口贩卖。
    布什总统的《国家安全战略》重申了我们的信念,即推动民主和人权是保障稳定的最有效长期战略。《战略》目标包括结束暴政、传播自由、而捍卫人类的尊严是我们结束贩卖人口的使命:“贩卖人口是一种现代奴隶制,我们要努力将之完全废除。我们的后代不会原谅那些无视此问题的人。” 39
想想你对人乳头瘤病毒(HPV)的评论。我同意你开始的说法,即HPV已成为美国最常见的性传播疾病。然而,你后来的话却缺乏能够真正教育你的读者的深度。HPV包含超过100种人乳头瘤病毒,其中一些只不过造成皮肤疣而已。只有约30种通过性传播,不仅导致子宫颈癌,而且还有生殖器疣。在这30种当中,我们把危及生命的划为“高危”类别,包括约10种HPV。我们来看看你还说了些什么。
    我们现在有一种看来既安全又有效的HPV疫苗。这种疫苗在试验接种的六千女性中产生了100%的免疫性。然而,我们政府中的基督教保守派抵制疫苗项目,理由是HPV很珍贵,因为它可以扼制婚前性行为。这些虔诚男女想要保护子宫颈癌作为禁欲的动力,即使是以每年牺牲数千名女性的代价。40
美国疾病控制中心确实认为HPV疫苗(哥达斯)安全有效,然而你称它有100%的有效性以及暗示如果普遍使用就可以根除子宫颈癌,这太夸大事实了。它确实对于其设计预防的四种HPV病毒有100%有效性,但对于至少6种已知高危HPV病毒没有作用。这四种病毒导致70%的子宫颈癌。这就是说女性仍需每年进行子宫颈抹片检查。你说基督教保守派“想要保护子宫颈癌”是误导,因为它暗示子宫颈癌是能够根除的。你说“我们政府中的基督教保守派抵制疫苗项目”也是误导,因为它暗示基督徒完全反对研发和使用此疫苗。事实上基督徒只是抵制为小学年龄段学生强制接种疫苗。看看家庭研究委员会政策副总裁彼得•斯普里各2006年7月15日在《华盛顿邮报》的发言吧。
    经过大量研究,我们和其它家庭支持组织得出结论:研发HPV疫苗的好处明显胜过潜在的成本花费。这些支持群体包括领军的保守家庭支持机构如家庭研究委员会、关注家庭、关注美国女性、和性健康医学院…家庭支持组织一致认为父母应该为子女做出最佳决定。我们反对一些州试图将哥达斯定为强制接种(例如要求到校上课的学生必须接种)。如果使用这种疫苗成为一种推荐医疗保护,如果联邦儿童疫苗项目为那些家庭无力负担疫苗费用的儿童出资接种,那么疫苗不经学校强制也会普及。41

继续读!

读《给基督教国家的一封信:回应》第一页。

脚注:
36山姆•哈里斯,第26页。
37 见《以弗所书》 4:26.
38 http://www.christianitytoday.com/ct/2007/january/18.10.html.
39 康多利扎•赖斯,人口贩卖报告。 (美国国务院,2006年6月5日)
(http://www.state.gov/g/tip/rls/tiprpt/2006/65982.htm).
40山姆•哈里斯,第26-27页。
41 http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/
content/article/2006/07/14/AR2006071401532_pf.html.


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:




English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


门徒训练

《十诫》
《圣经》中的奴隶
地狱存在么?
基督信仰的证据
原罪教义
祈祷是什么?
找到神
性和《圣经》
Additional Content To Explore...

崇拜
团契
事工
宣道
 
 
科学上神存在吗?
哲学上神存在吗?
圣经是真实的吗?
神是谁?
耶稣是谁?
哪个宗教?
在神中成长
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
搜索
 
Add 性和《圣经》 to My Google!
Add 性和《圣经》 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 性和《圣经》
我看世界 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2014 AllAboutWorldview.org, 保留所有权利。

Sex and the Bible

allaboutworldview

Sex and the Bible
Sex and the Bible? You summarize your views of Christianity’s attitudes toward sex with the following statement:

    Your [the Christian’s] principal concern appears to be that the creator of the universe will take offense at something people do while naked. This prudery of yours contributes daily to the surplus of human misery.36
You seem to arrive at this conclusion primarily in response to the majority Christian consensus on stem-cell research and abortion. Have you ever considered specifically what Jesus had to say about sex? Once again, let us look at the fifth chapter of Matthew’s gospel.
    You have heard that it was said, ‘Do not commit adultery.’ But I tell you that anyone who looks at a woman lustfully has already committed adultery with her in his heart. - Matthew 5:27-28
Jesus’ statement definitely sounded new to his audience, a group of Jewish rabbinic teachers known as Pharisees. They had always believed that adultery was only punishable when action followed lustful desire. Jesus turned this thinking on its head by condemning lust outright.

Sex and the Bible - Pornography
Pornography is a billion dollar industry that depends solely on profit gained from the promotion of lust. You can see why the Christian Right emerges as the most vocal opponent of pornography. Yet why is that the case? Among pornography’s most vocal advocates, the Liberal Left fights for its artistic value and proclaims first amendment rights violations toward those seeking to limit its availability. Jesus recognized the degree to which lust denigrates the dignity of human persons.

Yet are humans really worthy of being treated with dignity? If we evolved solely as another mammalian species, like other animals, then should we really expect to be treated with dignity? That presumption reflects an aura of blatant speciesism, an unwarranted preference for our own species. Yet who among us would choose a lifestyle devoid of dignity? We all have an intrinsic sense of dignity as a direct result of what theologians call the imago dei (the image of God). We reflect many of the qualities attributed to God in the Bible, such as love, mercy, compassion, and even anger, although Paul warns us not to sin in our anger.37 Pornography tramples the inherent dignity of humanity by converting individuals into objects. Men who become addicted to pornography often fail in their marital obligations or commit adultery, resulting in human suffering. Many women become involved in pornography for financial reasons or due to boredom. Though this may superficially appear harmless, those women often regret their actions later in life. Further, pornography doesn’t just affect adults, it also affects children.

    Tragically, the world's oldest profession has one of the world's youngest workforces today. Dawn Herzog Jewell, who wrote this month's cover story [in Christianity Today], "Red-Light Rescue," found that millions of preteen and teenage girls are trapped in prostitution, typically earning money for their families or brothel owners.38
Bored homemakers or struggling co-eds comprise only a small percentage of those involved in pornography. As the above quotation indicates, the vast majority also participate in prostitution and human trafficking. In fact, the only form of slavery that still predominates in our day involves trafficking in persons as a direct result of the pornographic industry the Liberal Left so ardently defends.
    President Bush's National Security Strategy reaffirmed our belief that promoting democracy and human rights is the most effective long-term strategy for ensuring stability. Included in the Strategy's goals for ending tyranny, spreading freedom, and championing human dignity is our commitment to ending human trafficking: "Trafficking in persons is a form of modern-day slavery, and we strive for its total abolition. Future generations will not excuse those who turn a blind eye to it."39
Consider your comments about the human papillomavirus (HPV). I agree with your initial statements that HPV prevails as the most common sexually transmitted disease in the United States. Nevertheless, the rest of your comments lack the depth necessary to truly educate your reader. The term HPV includes over 100 different types of human papillomavirus, some of which do nothing more than cause common skin warts. Only about 30 transmit sexually, causing not only cervical cancer, but also benign genital warts. Of those 30, we place those that endanger lives into a “high risk” category that includes about 10 types of HPV. Let’s examine the remainder of your comments.
    We now have a vaccine for HPV that appears to be both safe and effective. The vaccine produced 100 percent immunity in the six thousand women who received it as part of a clinical trial. And yet, Christian conservatives in our government have resisted a vaccination program on the grounds that HPV is a valuable impediment to premarital sex. These pious men and women want to preserve cervical cancer as an incentive toward abstinence, even if it sacrifices the lives of thousands of women each year.40
The CDC does consider the HPV vaccine (Gardasil) safe and effective, however your claim of 100 percent efficacy and the implication that it will eradicate cervical cancer if used universally, greatly inflates the facts. It does provide 100 percent effectiveness in providing immunity to the four types of HPV it is designed to prevent, but is ineffective for at least six known types of high risk HPV. These four types of HPV cause 70 percent of cervical cancer cases. This means that women will still need to undergo yearly Pap tests. Your statement that Christian conservatives “want to preserve cervical cancer” misleads because it implies that a means for the complete eradication of cervical cancer actually exists. The statement “Christian conservatives in our government have resisted a vaccination program” also misleads in that it implies that Christians completely oppose the development and use of the vaccine. In reality Christians only resist a mandatory vaccination program for elementary school-aged children. Consider these comments from July 15, 2006 in the Washington Post made by Peter Sprigg, vice president for policy at the Family Research Council.
    After extensive study, we and other pro-family groups have concluded that the clear benefits of developing an HPV vaccine outweigh any potential costs. The groups welcoming it include leading conservative pro-family organizations such as the Family Research Council, Focus on the Family, Concerned Women for America and the Medical Institute for Sexual Health. . . .Pro-family groups are united in believing that parents should decide what is best for their children. We oppose any effort by states to make Gardasil mandatory (for example, making it a requirement for school attendance). If use of the vaccine becomes part of the recommended standard of care, and if the federal Vaccines for Children program pays for vaccination of those children whose families cannot afford it, then vaccination should become widespread without school mandates.41

Keep Reading!

Read Page 1 of Letter To A Christian Nation: A Response.

Footnotes:
36 Sam Harris, p. 26.
37 See Ephesians 4:26.
38 http://www.christianitytoday.com/ct/2007/january/18.10.html.
39 Condoleeza Rice, Trafficking in Persons Report
(U.S. State Department, June 5, 2006). (http://www.state.gov/g/tip/rls/tiprpt/2006/65982.htm).
40 Sam Harris, p. 26-27.
41 http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/
content/article/2006/07/14/AR2006071401532_pf.html.


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?