《圣经》中的奴隶

《圣经》中的奴隶

 
当前位置: 我看世界 >> 《圣经》中的奴隶

本页节选自R.C. 梅特卡夫《致基督教国家的一封信:对应》。欲知更多信息,请登录www.ThinkAgain.us。

《圣经》中的奴隶
看来你不信基督教的一个原因是《圣经》里存在奴隶。几乎整个人类历史上都曾有奴隶存在。几个世纪来文化风俗不是一成不变的,而对待奴隶的态度也在随之改变。18世纪前废奴运动还很罕见。《旧约》的《出埃及记》中有很值得注意的最早记载。《旧约律法》帮助奴隶受到仁厚待遇。然而,在埃及,以色列人主要做砖工,条件很恶劣。摩西就带领约600,000以色列人及其家人逃出了埃及的樊笼。

大英帝国奴隶在1834年由于威廉•威伯福斯和约翰•牛顿等人的不懈努力而获得解放。牛顿是无神论者,他没有任何道德基础去反对奴隶制。他到一艘奴隶船上当仆役,自己的待遇也不比奴隶好多少。后来他有了自己的奴隶船。在一次暴风雨的汹涌之后,约翰•牛顿经历了基督信仰的恩典,他自责参与奴隶贸易的做法。威廉•威伯福斯从1787年直到1833年去世之前都在孜孜不倦地设法实现废除奴隶制。在去世前几个月,他见证了英国议会通过《废除奴隶法案》。英国奴隶贸易的最终结束在很大程度上归功于威伯福斯和牛顿的不懈努力。威伯福斯一生都是虔诚的福音派新教教徒,在献身废除奴隶制的两年前信主。2007年2月上映的电影《奇异恩典》就讲述了这两位基督徒的故事。

18世纪殖民地的美国和英国,奴隶制充满种族主义和虐待,但是在《旧约》中的以色列,成为奴隶有时是一种必须。没有人强迫别人成为奴隶。奴隶签下合同同意为主人的家庭服务,为期7年。期满后,律法要求终止合同。在契约期间,奴隶有权享受除继承权外任何其他家庭成员的权利。现在的保姆跟这很接近。当然奴隶的工作比保姆的轻松家务要艰辛得多,不过其人际关系相似。

你读《圣经》,会让你以为“每个人都可以将自己的女儿卖身为奴—尽管也有美好结局。”34

    人若卖女儿作婢女,婢女不可像男仆那样出去。主人选定她归自己,若不喜欢她,就要许她赎身,主人既然用诡诈待她,就没有权柄卖给外邦人。主人若选定她给自己的儿子,就当待她如同女儿。若另娶一个,那女子的吃食,衣服,并好合的事,仍不可减少。若不向她行这三样,她就可以不用钱赎,白白地出去。--《出埃及记》21:7-11
在《旧约》年代,当有人卖女儿为奴时,他允许她订立她自己同意的婚约。《旧约》风俗包括新郎或是新郎家要给新娘的父亲彩礼。这不一定总是钱财,也可以是珍贵的礼物等。上述段落不仅有实际的美好,而且用律法保护了以这种方式成婚的女子。

我们举有几个奴隶新娘的雅各一家为例。雅各有十二个儿子,其后裔建立了以色列十二部落:流便,西缅,利未,犹大,以萨迦,西布伦,但,拿弗他利,迦得,亚设,约瑟和便雅悯。35 雅各爱上拉结,想娶她。雅各就去见她的父亲拉班并打算在她家为奴七年好迎娶拉结。然而不幸的是,拉班那地方的风俗是大女儿必须先结婚。七年一晃而过,雅各娶的是利亚而不是拉结,雅各就很生气。拉班答应利亚成婚七日后让雅各娶拉结,但需要再服事七年。特别痴心的雅各就又在拉班家为奴七年,终于娶得心爱的拉结。所以雅各和拉结也结婚,并扩大了雅各已经和利亚建立的家庭。利亚和拉结也得到使女,这些使女悉帕、辟拉也成为雅各家的成员,征得利亚和拉结同意后成为雅各的妻子。利亚给雅各生了六个儿子,雅各的其他三个妻子也分别给他生了两个儿子。利亚还生了个女儿底拿。这些叙述在《创世记》29章和30章。雅各平等善待他的妻子利亚和拉结,以及两个妻仆悉帕、辟拉。雅各与拉班契约期满后,与妻儿一起组成的家庭生活游历。

《圣经》中的奴隶—一夫多妻
一夫多妻是古代以色列普遍接受的做法。按你的推理,在美国也该延续一夫多妻这样的律法。毕竟基督徒构成美国宗教人口的大多数。如果《旧约》律法仍旧对今天的基督徒有约束力的话,沃•杰夫斯就不会成为唯一上新闻的一夫多妻教主了。然而,耶稣在马太福音中清楚表明赞成一夫一妻制,《旧约律法》也再次被耶稣的话废除。

    耶稣回答说,那起初造人的,是造男造女,并且说,因此,人要离开父母,与妻子连合,二人成为一体。这经你们没有念过吗?既然如此,夫妻不再是两个人,乃是一体的了。所以神配合的,人不可分开。--《马太福音》19:4-6

继续读!

读《给基督教国家的一封信:回应》第一页。

脚注s:
34 山姆•哈里斯,第15页。参见 《出埃及记》21:7-11。
35《创世记》35:23-26


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:




English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


门徒训练

祈祷是什么?
基督信仰的证据
原罪教义
《十诫》
地狱存在么?
找到神
《圣经》中的奴隶
性和《圣经》
Additional Content To Explore...

崇拜
团契
事工
宣道
 
 
科学上神存在吗?
哲学上神存在吗?
圣经是真实的吗?
神是谁?
耶稣是谁?
哪个宗教?
在神中成长
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
搜索
 
Add 《圣经》中的奴隶 to My Google!
Add 《圣经》中的奴隶 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 《圣经》中的奴隶
我看世界 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2014 AllAboutWorldview.org, 保留所有权利。

Slavery in the Bible

allaboutworldview

Slavery in the Bible
One reason you seem to discredit Christianity is because of the existence of slavery in the Bible. Slavery has existed throughout virtually the entire span of human history. Cultural mores have not remained stagnant over the centuries, and attitudes toward slavery have changed along with them. Abolitionist movements were rare prior to the 18th century. We find the most notable and first recorded exception in the Old Testament book of Exodus. The Old Testament laws helped to ascertain the humane treatment of slaves. However, in Egypt the Israelites served primarily as brick builders and were subject to harsh conditions. Moses led approximately 600,000 Israelite men and their families out of bondage in Egypt.

In the British Empire slaves became emancipated in 1834 due to the tireless efforts of men like William Wilberforce and John Newton. As an atheist, Newton had no moral grounding upon which to base any opposition to slavery. He became a servant on a slave ship and received no better than the slaves he served. He then became captain of his own slave ship. Following a tempestuous storm, John Newton experienced the grace of Christian faith, leading him to repudiate his involvement in the slave trade. William Wilberforce worked tirelessly to secure the abolition of slavery in Britain from 1787 until his death in 1833. Several months prior to his death he witnessed the passage of the Slavery Abolition Act by the British Parliament. The British slave trade finally ended due in large part to the indefatigability of Wilberforce and Newton. Wilberforce also lived an ardent evangelical, protestant Christian life, which began just two years prior to devoting his life to the abolition of slavery. The film Amazing Grace, released in February 2007, depicts the stories of these two Christian men.

Slavery in colonial America and Britain in the 18th century was fraught with racism and abuse, but in Old Testament Israel, entrance into slavery simply became a necessity for some. No one forced anyone else into slavery. The slave signed a contract agreeing to serve the master’s family for a period of 7 years. At the end of this time, the Law required the cancellation of the contract. During the indenture period, the slave was entitled to all the rights of any other family member, except the right of inheritance. The closest modern analogy would be that of an au pair. A slave would certainly perform much more strenuous tasks than the light housework required of an au pair, nevertheless similar interpersonal relationships would develop.

Your reading of the Bible leads you to believe that “every man is free to sell his daughter into sexual slavery -- though certain niceties apply.”34

    If a man sells his daughter as a servant, she is not to go free as menservants do. If she does not please the master who has selected her for himself, he must let her be redeemed. He has no right to sell her to foreigners, because he has broken faith with her. If he selects her for his son, he must grant her the rights of a daughter. If he marries another woman, he must not deprive the first one of her food, clothing and marital rights. If he does not provide her with these three things, she is to go free, without any payment of money. - Exodus 21:7-11
In the days of the Old Testament, when a man sold his daughter as a servant, he allowed her entrance into a marriage covenant in which she approved. A man or his family typically initiated the sequence of steps leading to marriage. The Old Testament custom included the new husband or his family offering a bride price to the father of the bride. Not always a monetary payment, this may have taken the form of a gift of something considered valuable. The above passage does not merely offer applicable niceties, but provides laws protecting women who enter into marriage in this manner.

As an example of a family that included servant brides, let us consider the household of Jacob. Jacob had twelve sons whose descendants gave rise to the Twelve Tribes of Israel: Reuben, Simeon, Levi, Judah, Issachar, Zebulun, Dan, Naphtali, Gad, Asher, Joseph, and Benjamin.35 Jacob fell in love with Rachel and desired to marry her. Jacob then met with her father Laban and arranged to become a slave in the household for seven years, in order to earn Rachel’s hand in marriage. Unfortunately for Jacob, the custom in Laban’s country assumed the firstborn should enter into marriage first. After seven years had elapsed, Jacob was given Leah in marriage instead of Rachel, which angered him. Laban agreed to allow Jacob to marry Rachel after Leah’s bridal week had passed, in return for another seven years of labor. Severely smitten, Jacob continued as Laban’s slave for another seven years to win the hand of his beloved Rachel. So Jacob and Rachel also married and expanded the family Jacob had already started with Leah. Both Leah and Rachel were given maidservants who also joined Jacob’s family. These maidservants, Zilpah and Bilhah, became servant wives to Jacob by their mutual agreement with Leah and Rachel. While Leah bore Jacob six sons, each of his other three wives bore him two sons. Leah also bore a daughter, Dinah. We find this account in Genesis 29 and 30. Jacob treated his wives, Leah and Rachel, and his servant wives, Zilpah and Bilhah, fairly and equitably. Jacob, his wives and their children lived and traveled together as a family unit after Jacob had finished his contract with Laban.

Slavery in the Bible - Polygamy
Polygamy was a commonly accepted practice in ancient Israel. By your reasoning it follows that polygamy would continue as the law of the land here in America, too. After all, Christians make up the largest percentage of the religious population in America. If all the Old Testament laws still bound Christians today, Warren Jeffs wouldn’t be the only polygamist patriarch making the news. However, Jesus spoke very clearly in favor of monogamy in Matthew’s gospel. Once again, the Old Testament law has been abrogated by Jesus’ words.

    Haven’t you read that at the beginning the Creator ‘made them male and female,’ and said, ‘For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and the two will become one flesh’? So they are no longer two, but one. Therefore what God has joined together, let man not separate. - Matthew 19:4-6

Keep Reading!

Read Page 1 of Letter To A Christian Nation: A Response.


Footnotes:
34 Sam Harris, p. 15. Ref. Exodus 21:7-11.
35 See Genesis 35:23-26.


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?