祈祷是什么?

祈祷是什么?

 
当前位置: 我看世界 >> 祈祷是什么?

本页节选自R.C. 梅特卡夫《致基督教国家的一封信:对应》。欲知更多信息,请登录www.ThinkAgain.us。

祈祷是什么?
你常嘲笑这种说法:神或许真的会回应他的子民的祈祷。你写道:

    当卡特里娜将城市变为废墟时神在做什么?他肯定听到那些上了年纪的男男女女的祈祷。他们从不断上涨的河水中逃到阁楼上,但终究也被慢慢淹死。这些都是有信仰的人。这些是整个一生都在祈祷的好人。你有勇气承认显然的事实吗?这些人就在和想象中的朋友的谈话中死去。67
理查德•道金斯也喜欢强调祈祷无用。他说达尔文的侄子弗朗西斯•高尔顿曾首次尝试科学分析祈祷是否有实际效果。“他说每个星期天全英国的教堂里,整个会众都公开为王室的健康祈祷。那么,王室成员的健康是否应该比我们好特别多呢…”高尔顿发现,从统计数字来看,王室成员的健康和英国其他人的健康没什么差别。

我们还应注意弗朗西斯•高尔顿生造了优生学一词。此词是纳粹德国的宣讲中很突出的一个词。高尔顿写道:
    我们特别需要一个简洁的词来表达改善物种的科学,这绝不仅限于明智交配,而是,尤其对人类而言,要考虑到各种影响的变数,无论这些影响在多么微小的程度上能够给更适合的人种或血脉以机会,使之超过其它不太适合人种,优生学这个词足以表达此观点。68
尽管高尔顿在优生学这个失败领域做了很多前沿工作,这对于其祈祷研究没有任何影响,但读者如果考虑到它对于二战的影响,就会发现上述补充太有趣了。

理查德•道金斯描述了由邓普顿基金会赞助的一项研究,此研究旨在检验祈祷对心脏病患者的作用。他们对1800多名“都接受了冠脉心脏搭桥手术”的病患进行了双盲研究。
    病人被分为三组。第一组得到祈祷不过不知情。第二组(控制组)没有得到祈祷也不知情。第三组得到祈祷并知情。第一组和第二组之间的比较就可以检测代祷的疗效。第三组则检测当知道自己得到代祷时是否有心身效应。69
三个不同教会的教友都离他们的祈祷对象几百英里以外,他们每人都接到他们将为之祈祷的人员的姓以及名字的缩写,并且被告知要包括以下词句:“为了手术成功,快速健康复原,没有并发症”。这项研究的结论是在接受祈祷和未接受祈祷的两组间没有重大差别。

祈祷是什么—有效的祈祷
这样的实验有弊病吗?从神的角度来说可接受的祈祷的前提条件是什么?19世纪晚期普利斯顿著名神学家查尔斯霍奇提出了七个标准。

  1. 真诚—“神是一个灵。他要求真心…他不能被欺骗,不会被嘲弄…每个人都必须承认…许多人在公共礼拜场所重复庄严的奉献形式,自称与那些庄严礼拜的人结合一起,而没有什么相应的情感,这种礼拜差不多就是嘲弄。”

  2. 崇敬—“《圣经》中记录的祈祷最大的特点就是祈祷得以因之遍布的崇敬精神。”

  3. 谦卑—“这首先包括一种在神眼中我们作为罪人应有的… 污秽感。”

  4. 热切—“神是智慧的施恩人。他要求我们理解我们所求保佑的价值 ,并且表现出应有的热切渴望。如果要为自己的生活或是所爱之人的生活而祈求,就不要克制自己的热切。”

  5. 顺服—“无论其要求是什么,每个理解他和神之间正确关系的人都会由衷而说:主,不要成就我的意思,只要成就你的意思。”

  6. 信仰—“我们必须相信。 (a.) 神存在。 (b.) 他能够听到并回应我们的祈祷。(c.) 他会由衷地回应。(d.) 如果祈祷和他本身的睿智计划一致,和我们最大的裨益一致,他一定会回应。”

  7. 以基督的名祈求—“我们的主告诉他的门徒‘向来你们没有奉我的名求什么,如今你们求就必得着。’70 以某人的名做事常是凭他的权威做事,并施行他的力量…某人以另一人的名求帮助,其实就是凭借他。藉着以他的名义求帮助,是因为这样才会被应准。” 71
许多人重复同样的话时有多真诚呢?当教友们都不知道他们为之祈祷的人姓什么的时候,他们的祈祷有多热切呢?祈祷本身是非常个人的经历。想用统计数字来分析祈祷是否有效,这从一开始就注定失败的。有太多因素是科学实验无法控制的。

你似乎觉得这点不合情理:神“会关注象同性恋结婚或是祷告者的名字这样琐碎的事情…”72 然而,设想你听一门课,这门课的成绩相当一部分取决于课堂参与。比如有五十人听课而教授问每个人问题,然后是简短的课堂讨论。教授每堂课随机问不同学生十个问题然后根据其回答打分。每个问题后都有简短的讨论,而你踊跃参与。然而,你不知道成绩是按最初的回答给出的。更糟糕的是,你没意识到教授的记分册上你的名字写错了。他没写山姆•哈里斯,而是写了扫罗•莫里斯!每次他叫扫罗•莫里斯回答问题都没反应。你认为这个人肯定几周前就不上这门课了。不幸的是,当成绩出来的时候,你就没法认为教授把你的名字写错是件琐碎小事了。

祈祷不是如你所说是对“想象中的朋友”的无意义的絮叨。神在一个基督徒生命中的积极参与在他整个一生中都变得越来越明显。“神的最终意志是不变的,但他决定如何实现这个意志则要看他的儿女的祈祷。”73 祈祷确实可以改变信众生活中的明显进程。这是否意味着神总是改变主意呢?不是。相反,神在变化发生之前就意识到要发生的事及其影响。它们在我们看来是变化,只是由于我们没有神那样的全知视角。

继续读!

读《给基督教国家的一封信:回应》第一页。

脚注:
67 山姆•哈里斯,第52页。
68 弗朗西斯•高尔顿,《探索人类官能及其发展》(伦敦:麦克米兰,1883年)第17页,脚注1。
69 理查德•道金斯,《神的错觉》,第63页。
70 《约翰福音》16:24。亦见《约翰福音》15:16和《约翰福音》14:13。
71 查尔斯霍奇,《系统神学:第三卷》(亨德里克森出版公司,2003年),第701-704页。,
72 山姆•哈里斯,第55页。
73 沃特 A. 艾威尔,《神学福音词典》(贝克书局:急流城,1984年),第867页。亦见《约翰福音》1:12和《约翰一书》3:1。


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:




English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


门徒训练

基督信仰的证据
找到神
祈祷是什么?
原罪教义
地狱存在么?
《圣经》中的奴隶
性和《圣经》
《十诫》
Additional Content To Explore...

崇拜
团契
事工
宣道
 
 
科学上神存在吗?
哲学上神存在吗?
圣经是真实的吗?
神是谁?
耶稣是谁?
哪个宗教?
在神中成长
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
搜索
 
Add 祈祷是什么? to My Google!
Add 祈祷是什么? to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 祈祷是什么?
我看世界 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2014 AllAboutWorldview.org, 保留所有权利。

What is Prayer?

allaboutworldview

What is Prayer?
You have the tendency to scoff at the suggestion that God might actually answer the prayers of His people. You write:

    What was God doing while Katrina laid waste to their city? Surely He heard the prayers of those elderly men and women who fled the rising waters for the safety of their attics, only to be slowly drowned there. These were people of faith. These were good men and women who had prayed throughout their lives. Do you have the courage to admit the obvious? These poor people died talking to an imaginary friend.67
Richard Dawkins also takes delight in emphasizing the impotency of prayer. He states that Francis Galton, Charles Darwin’s cousin, made the first attempt to scientifically analyze whether or not prayer had any real effect. “He noted that every Sunday, in churches throughout Britain, entire congregations prayed publicly for the health of the royal family. Shouldn’t they, therefore, be unusually fit, compared with the rest of us...” Galton discovered that, statistically, no difference existed between the health of the royal family and the health of the rest of Britain.

We should also note that Francis Galton coined the term eugenics, which featured prominently in the rhetoric of Nazi Germany. Galton wrote:
    We greatly want a brief word to express the science of improving stock, which is by no means confined to questions of judicious mating, but which, especially in the case of man, takes cognisance of all influences that tend in however remote a degree to give to the more suitable races or strains of blood a better chance of prevailing speedily over the less suitable than they otherwise would have had. The word eugenics would sufficiently express the idea.68
While Galton’s pioneering of the failed field of eugenics had no impact on the validity of his study of prayer, the reader may find the above sidebar interesting considering its huge impact on the events of World War II.

Richard Dawkins describes a study funded by the Templeton Foundation designed to experimentally test the effect of prayer on cardiac patients. They performed a double blind study using over 1800 patients, “all of whom received coronary bypass surgery.”
    The patients were divided into three groups. Group 1 received prayers and didn’t know it. Group 2 (the control group) received no prayers and didn’t know it. Group 3 received prayers and did know it. The comparison between Groups 1 and 2 tests for the efficacy of intercessory prayer. Group 3 tests for possible psychosomatic effects of knowing that one is being prayed for.69
Congregants in three different churches all located hundreds of miles away from the subjects of their prayers, each received the first name and last initial of each of the patients for whom they were to pray, and were told to include the phrase ‘for a successful surgery with a quick, healthy recovery and no complications.’ The study resulted in no significant difference between the groups who received prayer and the group that didn’t receive prayers.

What is Prayer – Effective Prayer
Could such an experiment have any real flaws? What constitute prerequisites of acceptable prayer from God’s perspective? The eminent Princeton theologian of the late nineteenth century, Charles Hodge, offered seven criteria.

  1. Sincerity – “God is a Spirit. He searches the heart. . . .He cannot be deceived and will not be mocked....Everyone must acknowledge...with regard to the multitudes who, in places of public worship, repeat the solemn forms of devotion or profess to unite with those who utter them, without any corresponding emotions, the service is little more than mockery.”

  2. Reverence – “Nothing is more characteristic of the prayers recorded in the Bible, than the spirit of reverence by which they are pervaded.”

  3. Humility – “This includes, first, a due sense of our...uncleanness in the sight of God as sinners.”

  4. Importunity – “God deals with us as a wise benefactor. He requires that we should appreciate the value of the blessings for which we ask, and that we should manifest a proper earnestness of desire. If a man begs for his own life or for the life of one dear to him, there is no repressing his importunity.”

  5. Submission – “Every man who duly appreciates his relation to God, will, no matter what his request, be disposed to say, ‘Lord, not my will but thine be done.’”

  6. Faith – “We must believe. (a.) That God is. (b.) That He is able to hear and answer our prayers. (c.) That He is disposed to answer them. (d.) That He certainly will answer them, if consistent with his own wise purposes and with our best good.”

  7. Asking in the name of Christ – “Our Lord said to His disciples ‘Hitherto have ye asked nothing in my name: ask, and ye shall receive.’70 To act in the name of anyone is often to act by his authority, and in the exercise of his power....When one asks a favour in the name of another, the simple meaning is, for his sake. Regard for the person in whose name the favour is requested, is relied on as the ground on which it is to be granted.”71
How much sincerity is involved in repeating the same line over and over for many people? How importune were the prayers of the congregants when they were unaware of even the surnames of those for whom they were praying? Prayer, by its nature, is a very personal experience. The attempt to statistically analyze the effectiveness of prayer is doomed from the outset. Too many factors lie beyond the control of scientific experimentation.

You seem to find it unconscionable that God “could concern Himself with something as trivial as gay marriage or the name by which He is addressed in prayer...”72 Yet, suppose you took a class in which a significant portion of the grade depended upon class participation. Let’s say fifty people take the class and the professor asks questions of specific individuals that lead into short class discussions. The professor has a system of asking ten questions per class of various people at random and grading their responses. Short discussions follow each question, and you avidly participate. However, you are unaware that the grades are based upon the initial answers. Worse yet, you do not realize that the professor has your name wrong in his grade book. Rather than Sam Harris, he has Saul Morris! Every time he directs a question to Saul Morris he gets no response. You assume this guy should have dropped the course weeks ago. Unfortunately, when the grades come out, you will hardly think it trivial that the professor got your name wrong.

Prayer is not meaningless babble to an “imaginary friend,” as you suppose. The active participation of God in the life of a Christian becomes more apparent throughout the life of that Christian. “God’s ultimate will is unchanging, but the way in which He chooses to realize this will is dependent on the prayers of his children”73 Prayers do actually seem to change the apparent course of events in the lives of believers. Does this mean that God constantly changes His mind? No. Rather, He is aware of the changes that take place, and their effects, before they happen. They only appear to us as changes because we do not have His omniscient perspective.

Keep Reading!

Read Page 1 of Letter To A Christian Nation: A Response.


Footnotes:
67 Sam Harris, p. 52.
68 Francis Galton, Inquiries into human faculty and its development (London: Macmillan, 1883): 17, fn1.
69 Richard Dawkins, The God Delusion, p. 63.
70 John 16:24. See also John 15:16 and John 14:13.
71 Charles Hodge, Systematic Theology: Volume III (Hendrickson, 2003), p. 701-704. 72 Sam Harris, p. 55.
73 Walter A. Elwell, Ed. Evangelical Dictionary of Theology (Baker Booka: Grand Rapids, 1984), p. 867. See also John 1:12 and 1 John 3:1.


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?