胚胎干细胞

胚胎干细胞

 
当前位置: 我看世界 >> 胚胎干细胞

本页节选自R.C. 梅特卡夫《致基督教国家的一封信:对应》。欲知更多信息,请登录www.ThinkAgain.us。

胚胎干细胞
你对道德的片面看法显然扭曲了你对胚胎干细胞研究的分析。如果我们把“不道德”仅仅定义为它导致了人类痛苦的话,你的论点还有些价值。当然你的“脊髓损伤的孩子” 42的需要是刻不容缓的,然而,毁掉一个本来有可能成活的胚胎来制造胚胎干细胞是否真是帮助孩子的最好方式?胚胎干细胞研究不太可能给这个孩子带来超过成人干细胞研究更显著的好处。尽管胚胎干细胞确实比成人干细胞繁殖更快,而且显示出可以有一些神经再生,但是也确实很可能孩子的免疫系统会产生对外来细胞的移植物抗宿主病。研究人员发现巢蛋白的存在“表明神经干细胞比先前认为的要活跃很多。我们的大脑自动增加干细胞数量以帮助受损的中枢神经系统。” 43这些自然产生的干细胞只产生支持神经细胞的结构星形胶质细胞,而不产生神经元本身。格雷尔及其同事所做的老鼠研究表明,合并使用神经营养因子-3(NT-3)能激发神经干细胞发展成起作用的神经元,这就使运动技能显著改善。44来自大脑的神经营养因子,如NT-3,这些蛋白质不会产生伴随胚胎干细胞到达脊髓损伤部位所产生的主体排斥。

在一些其它医疗情形下,胚胎干细胞系可能提供最大的希望。然而我们现在确实无从得知,研究人员能取得多大的成功。同样的情况曾出现在1970年代和1980年代的基因治疗领域。对于公布基因疗法的预计结果令大量病人翘首。当研究人员意外遭遇许多医疗研究内在的技术困难后,人们大失所望。1995年,基因疗法研究已进行十几年而进展甚微,此时国家卫生研究院的主任派人对此领域进行评测,得出以下结论:

    对于目前基因疗法的协议的期待被炒得过高了。试验阶段的基因疗法的过热表述模糊了最初研究的探索本质,渲染了这些研究结果被描述给科学媒体和大众的方式,因此导致了广泛但错误的概念,即实验性的基因疗法已经极为成功。这样的误解动摇了对此领域的信任并将不可避免地导致医学界和非专业群体的失望。而我们更为关注的是病人、家庭和医疗机构可能对治疗方案做出不明智决定,期待他们误以为是“近在咫尺”的治愈方法。45
在胚胎干细胞研究领域,病人们已经开始对这个只是处于胚胎阶段的研究领域充满期待。维克森林大学和哈佛大学的科学家们最近发现收集胚胎干细胞的一个不太引人争议的方法。研究人员“从孕妇捐献的羊水中提取干细胞,把它们变成几种不同的组织细胞类型,包括肝脏、大脑和骨骼…哈佛干细胞研究员乔治•达利说这一发现可能意味着孕妇今后可以将羊水干细胞冷冻起来以备后用,它可以产生病童所需的替换组织,而不必害怕组织排异。46

胚胎干细胞—“灵魂“问题
你的结论是基督徒反对胚胎干细胞研究,因为“生命开始于怀胎时刻”和“每个这种囊胚中都有灵魂”。47基督教会一般怎么看待“灵魂”概念?大多数基督徒通常认为“灵魂在怀胎时刻就开始存在,或是通过神的直接行动(创造论)或是通过父母的传承(灵魂遗传论)48。”我相信灵魂遗传论,也就是说我相信灵魂是代代相传的。然而,精神-身体问题的症结不在于灵魂在个人身体中的起源,而是灵魂到底是否存在。你对灵魂概念的明显嘲弄使我认为你坚信“人是纯粹的物质有机体,其情感、道德和宗教经历都最终由物理和生物科学解释。” 49我们把这种精神-身体问题的一元论观点称为还原物理主义。相反, 我认为我们可以不再嘲笑、接受通过科学和神学双方面的洞见,以此更好地理解灵魂的本质。

尽管关于灵魂本质的争辩对于成圣的生活极为重要,人类内在的尊严问题也是同样不可或缺的。马丁路德金理解基督教中神的形象概念。他对于人类内在尊严的坚定信仰就是他的基督信仰的直接结果。路德因促进各种族人民平等方面的努力于1964年获得诺贝尔奖。差不多两百年前,美国《独立宣言》的序言指出一个不言而喻的真理,即人人受造而平等。然而作为一个民族,美国人直到最近才达成共识,暨在尊重各种族人民的前提下支持那个不言而喻的真理。也许我们该凭着对不同发展阶段的人的尊重,意识到同样不言而喻的真理。

继续读!

读《给基督教国家的一封信:回应》第一页。

脚注:

42山姆•哈里斯,第32页。
43 http://www.namiscc.org/newsletters/December01/
SCI-stem-cell-research.htm. CNS代表“中枢神经系统”。
44格雷尔,R.,盖格, F.H.,穆雷, K., 布莱奇, A. 和 图伦斯基, M.H. ,“神经营养因子-3 的细胞传递促进皮质性轴索生长和脊髓损伤后部分的功能恢复”, 《神经科学》17: 5560-5572 (1997).
45 雪莉 M. 蒂格曼,“致新泽西干细胞研究院”(普林斯顿大学:2004年11月11日) (http://www.princeton.edu/president/speeches/20041111/index.xml),
(http://www.nih.gov/news/panelrep.html).
46 林恩•文森特,“首先不伤害”(世界杂志:2007年1月20日),第30页。
47 山姆•哈里斯,第31页。
48 J.P. 莫兰德和司各特 B. 瑞,《身体和灵魂:人类本质和伦理危机》(唐纳斯格罗夫,伊利诺斯州,校际出版社,2000年)第205-206页。
49 菲尔吕克,“为人意味着什么?科学时代寻找灵魂的神学:争议,假设,选择和挑战”(明尼阿波利斯,明尼苏达州:迈克劳林学院,2006年) (http://www.maclaurin.org/article_print.php?a_id=71).


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:




English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


热门话题

山姆•哈里斯
《致基督教国家的一封信》
胚胎干细胞
基督教和科学
善和恶
回应《致基督教国家的一封信》
无神论信仰
Additional Content To Explore...

科学上神存在吗?
哲学上神存在吗?
圣经是真实的吗?
神是谁?
耶稣是谁?
哪个宗教?
如何在神中成长?
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 胚胎干细胞 to My Google!
Add 胚胎干细胞 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 胚胎干细胞
我看世界 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2016 AllAboutWorldview.org, 保留所有权利。

Embryonic Stem Cells

Embryonic Stem Cells
Your incomplete view of morality evidently distorts your analysis of embryonic stem cell research. If we defined “immoral” as only that which causes human suffering, your case may have some merit. Certainly the needs of your “child with a spinal cord injury”42 are imperative. Yet, is the destruction of a potentially viable human embryo to produce embryonic stem cells truly the best course of action to help this child? Embryonic stem cell research will not likely offer this child any notable advantages over adult stem cell research. While embryonic stem cells do multiply faster than adult stem cells and have been shown to produce some neuronal regeneration, there still exists a significant likelihood that the child’s immune system will mount a graft-versus-host response to the foreign cells. Researchers have found that the presence of the protein nestin “indicates neural stem cells are much more active than previously believed. Our brain naturally increases the production of stem cells to aid an injured CNS.”43 These naturally produced stem cells only yield structural astrocytes that provide neuronal support rather than the neurons themselves. Studies conducted by Grill and colleagues on rats have shown that concomitant use of neurotrophin 3 (NT-3), stimulates neural stem cells to develop into functional neurons that result in significant improvement in motor skills.44 Brain derived neurotrophic factors such as NT-3 are proteins that do not have the potential for host rejection associated with the introduction of embryonic stems cells to the site of a spinal cord injury.

In some other medical situations embryonic stem cell lines may offer the best hope. Nevertheless, we really have no way of knowing, at this time, how much success researchers will encounter. A similar situation arose in the 1970s and 1980s with the field of gene therapy. Public pronouncements of the expected results of gene therapy research yielded a throng of suffering patients with high expectations. This resulted in a tremendous let-down as researchers encountered the many unexpected technical difficulties inherent in medical research. In 1995, with minimal progress after more than a decade of gene therapy research, the Director of the National Institutes of Health commissioned a review of the field which led to the following pronouncement:

    Expectations of current gene therapy protocols have been oversold. Overzealous representation of clinical gene therapy has obscured the exploratory nature of the initial studies, colored the manner in which findings are portrayed to the scientific press and public, and led to the widely held, but mistaken, perception that clinical gene therapy is already highly successful. Such misrepresentation threatens confidence in the field and will inevitably lead to disappointment in both medical and lay communities. Of even greater concern is the possibility that patients, their families, and health providers may make unwise decisions regarding treatment alternatives, holding out for cures that they mistakenly believe are ‘just around the corner.’45
Already, in the field of embryonic stem cell research, patients have developed high expectations for a very embryonic field of study.

Scientists at Wake Forest University and Harvard University have recently discovered a much less controversial way of harvesting embryonic stem cells. Researchers retrieved “stem cells from amniotic fluid donated by pregnant women and turned them into several different tissue cell types, including liver, brain, and bone....Harvard stem cell researcher George Daley said that the finding may mean expectant parents could someday freeze amnio stem cells for use in generating replacement tissue in a sick child, without fear of tissue rejection.”46

Embryonic Stem Cells – The “Soul” Question
You conclude that Christians oppose embryonic stem cell research because “life starts at the moment of conception” and “there are souls in each of these blastocysts.”47 What does the Christian church generally believe with respect to the concept of a “soul”? The majority of Christians typically do believe that “the soul comes into existence at the point of conception either by a direct act of God (creationism) or by transmission from parents (traducianism).”48 I adhere to the traducian view, which means that I believe the soul passes on from one generation to the next. However, the crux of the mind-body problem does not lie with the origin of the soul within individuals, but rather with the existence of the soul at all. Your apparent mockery of the concept of the soul leads me to believe that you are convinced that “a human person is purely a physical organism, whose emotional, moral, and religious experience will all ultimately be explained by the physical and biological sciences.”49 We call this monist view of the mind-body problem reductive physicalism. Conversely, I believe that we can achieve a greater understanding of the nature of the soul by dispensing with mockery altogether and accepting insights gained via both science and theology.

While the controversy regarding the nature of the soul remains vitally important to the question of the sanctity of life, the issue of inherent human dignity is equally indispensable. Martin Luther King, Jr. understood the Christian concept of the imago dei. His steadfast belief in the inherent dignity of human persons came as a direct result of his Christian faith. He received the 1964 Nobel Peace Prize for his efforts to promote equality for persons of all races. Almost two hundred years earlier, the preamble of the U.S. Declaration of Independence referred to the self-evident truth that all men were created equal. Yet as a nation, Americans have only recently reached a consensus that supports that self-evident truth with respect to persons of different races. Perhaps it’s time we recognize that same self-evident truth with respect to persons at different stages of development.

Keep Reading!

Read Page 1 of Letter To A Christian Nation: A Response.


Footnotes:
42 Sam Harris, p. 32.
43 http://www.namiscc.org/newsletters/December01/
SCI-stem-cell-research.htm. CNS stands for “central nervous system.”
44 Grill, R., Gage, F.H., Murai, K., Blesch, A. & Tuszynski, M.H. “Cellular delivery of neurotrophin-3 promotes corticospinal axonal growth and partial functional recovery after spinal cord injury” J. Neuroscience 17: 5560-5572 (1997).
45 Shirley M. Tilghman, “Address to the Stem Cell Institute of New Jersey” (Princeton University: November 11, 2004). (http://www.princeton.edu/president/speeches/20041111/index.xml), (http://www.nih.gov/news/panelrep.html).
46 Lynn Vincent, “First Do No Harm” (World Magazine: January 20, 2007), p. 30.
47 Sam Harris, p. 31.
48 J.P. Moreland & Scott B. Rae, Body & Soul: Human Nature & the Crisis in Ethics (Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 2000), p. 205-206.
49 Phil Lueck, “What Does It Mean To Be Human?: In Search of a Theology of the Soul in an Age of Science: Issues, Assumptions, Options, and Challenges” (Minneapolis, MN: The MacLaurin Institute, 2006). (http://www.maclaurin.org/article_print.php?a_id=71).


WHAT DO YOU THINK? - We have all sinned and deserve God's judgment. God, the Father, sent His only Son to satisfy that judgment for those who believe in Him. Jesus, the creator and eternal Son of God, who lived a sinless life, loves us so much that He died for our sins, taking the punishment that we deserve, was buried, and rose from the dead according to the Bible. If you truly believe and trust this in your heart, receiving Jesus alone as your Savior, declaring, "Jesus is Lord," you will be saved from judgment and spend eternity with God in heaven.

What is your response?

Yes, today I am deciding to follow Jesus

Yes, I am already a follower of Jesus

I still have questions






Facebook   YouTube   Twitter   Google+   RSS Feed




LEARN MORE